North Carolina Reckless Driving Laws

police officer giving a blonde woman a ticket in a red car.

While traffic violations are mostly infractions that are punishable by a costly fine and points administered to your driver’s license, there are some violations that are considered criminal offenses. Reckless driving is one such violation.

In North Carolina, reckless driving is defined as carelessly driving in willful disregard of the rights and safety of other drivers and pedestrians, or driving in a speed that endangers others and property. Driving over 15 miles per hour (mph) in a road with a posted speed limit of 55 mph is considered reckless driving, as well as driving over 80 mph.

A judge may consider the following factors when determining if a motorist was driving recklessly:

  • Traffic conditions
  • Weather conditions
  • The speed the defendant was driving
  • If other drivers took evasive action to avoid a collision
  • If the defendant was paying attention to the road

Reckless driving in North Carolina is a Class 2 misdemeanor, which carries a jail sentence of up to 60 days, a maximum fine of $1,000, driver’s license suspension for up to one year, and four points on a driver’s license. Additionally, a conviction can result in increased insurance premium, which can cause rates to skyrocket or the insurer to cut ties.

If you or a loved one has been charged with reckless driving in Charlotte, Jetton & Meredith, PLLC can defend you against harsh criminal penalties. With decades of combined experience, our legal team has a proven track record of successful case results in a variety of traffic matters, including reckless driving.

Contact us today at (704) 931-5535 to learn more about reckless driving laws in North Carolina.